top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

DIY Concrete Counters: A First-Timer's Guide

I'm working my way through some bathroom upgrades and I really wanted to replace our countertops without spending an arm and a leg. After lots of research, I kept gravitating towards concrete counters.


I've never worked with concrete so this one was a bit overwhelming at first, but I've gotta admit it was pretty dang fun.



Materials for creating the form:

Silicone caulking: for a rounded counter edge

Foam board insulation: for the sink knockouts

Sink templates from the sinks you plan to install

PVC: for the faucet knockouts - whatever diameter your faucets are

Pam cooking spray: helps pop boards off later


Materials for mixing concrete:

Concrete: I used a rapid set which I highly recommend against since we had to work fast

Titanium dioxide: lightens the concrete

Drill


Materials to finish the counter:


1. Create the melamine form

I cut the melamine to the exact size counter I needed and added 1.5-inch ledges.



2. Create sink and faucet knockouts

Using the foam panels and the sink templates that came with my new sinks, I cut the sink knockouts to size. Concrete will pick up all imperfections in the foam panels, so I lightly sanded down any edges that weren't perfectly smooth and used silicone to attach the knockouts to the melamine form.



3. Silicone the edges for smooth, rounded corners

I ran silicone over all corners of the form. This created the rounded corners of the counter instead of square. I used the backend of a sharpie to create an even corner in the silicone, and let the silicone dry before removing the excess with a razor. Don't leave any extra silicone behind! Any extra specks will create blemishes in the counter.



4. Mix concrete and reinforce

I tag-teamed this with my husband and BIL. We mixed the concrete as instructed and added the flow control and titanium dioxide halfway through. The flow control was sooo helpful in creating a pourable mixture without adding more water. The more water you add to concrete, the weaker the structure becomes, so the flow control was a great additive to ensure the counter stayed strong.


After the first batch of concrete, we laid down a thin layer of fiberglass reinforcement and then poured another batch of concrete.


Cheers to postpartum baby hairs & summer humidity! Lol



5. Let set

We covered and let this set for 3 days. 3 DAYSSS. Ask me how many times I peeked.


6. Remove the form

Removing the form was surprisingly easy! Everything popped right off with no issues.


7. Fill in any air bubbles with a 'slurry'

I created a mini-batch of concrete called a 'slurry' to fill in some of the imperfections. It didn't fill them in completely, but it did help.


8. Seal the counter

Concrete counters are prone to stains and scratching so a sealant is really important to keep them looking good in the long run. I used this sealant and followed the instructions on the back. It gave the counter a nice satin sheen and made the project look much more complete.




My only real gripe is that we didn't mix the titanium dioxide (pigment) enough, which shows in the inner sink. It's not the end of the world but I definitely wish we mixed more thoroughly or just ditched the pigment additive altogether.



This counter was a labor of love, patience, and learning, and overall I'm really pleased with the way it turned out! Although it's not perfect, the blemishes add character and the concrete brings an earthiness that pulls the bathroom together.



Recent Posts

See All

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go

bottom of page