top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

Painting Old Oak Cabinets in 7 Simple Steps

The 90s were great, but I'd like to stop living in the past with those orange oak cabinets.


Last year, I painted our kitchen and the kid's bathroom cabinets, making this my third go-around. After a few trials and errors with the previous cabinet projects, this was by far the easiest and least overwhelming approach I've taken!


Here's my (not so) secret recipe for painting cabinets that is attainable and will hold up to kids, pets, water, and all the good stuff life throws at them.


1. Remove the cabinets and hinges. Label everything!

Marking which hinge fits in which hole, which cabinet belongs to which space, and what screws go where will guarantee an easy assembly of everything later.



2. Scrub cabinets clean

I used a soft bristle brush with soap and water, but a degreaser would be great here too! Especially for kitchen cabinets.


3. Fill old hardware holes

This wood filler doesn't crack, split, or shrink. There are probably other great options out there, but this is what I've used in the past, and it has held up great. You can't tell the holes were ever there!


4. Give them a light sanding

Sand the cabinets to roughen them up. This will give the primer a surface to adhere to. I recommend using a sander for this. Although this can be done by hand, it's 100x easier and helps take off any extra grime that was left behind after washing.


5. Prime with an oil-based primer

This is such an important step for cabinets that were previously stained. Without an oil-based primer, the old stain can seep through to the surface of your paint and make the whole project look blotchy. I use Sherwin Williams ProBlock Primer and apply it with a brush and foam roller since it's too thick to use in my paint sprayer.


6. Paint (premium paint is a must)

In our kitchen, I used Sherwin Williams Emerald Urethane Trim Enamel which I LOVE, and it has held up great with our dogs and kids. In this bathroom, I used Benjamin Moose Advance in color Kendall Charcoal, and so far so good! Both of these paints are high-end paints that don't require a clear coat and are very durable. They cost more, but they save a lot of time and energy and will hold up a lot better. For a smooth finish, I used a paint sprayer, but a foam roller would work great too!


7. Let cure and assemble back into place

The paint takes a few days to fully cure, so it's important to let the cabinets dry before assembling. Then I used a jig to help put the new hardware on.


If you end up painting your cabinets, please tag me! Or if you have any questions about my experience and the steps I took, please let me know in the comments or Instagram DMs! I always love a good DIY chat :)


Recent Posts

See All

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go

bottom of page