top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go at a homemade recipe!


PS: if you have any tips and tricks, please let me know in the comments :)


Everything I used is linked in my Amazon storefront:

  • Soy Wax

  • Pure Essential Oil

  • Wicks (I recommend looking for higher quality ones. These didn't hold their flame very well, so I had to soak them in olive oil and stack 2-3 together to thicken the wick) I think I'd like to try cotton wicks next time

  • Mason Jar



Melt wax

Grab whatever vessel your making your candle in and fill it up twice with the un-melted wax. This is about how much wax is needed to make your candle. Using a glass bowl, I microwaved the wax until melted, stirring every minute or so.


Add wick

Dip the metal holder in the melted wax and use that as the glue to the hold the wick in place. Once again, I recommend experimenting by with different wicks. The wood ones I used had trouble burning evenly.


Add Pure Essential Oil

When looking online, it seemed like 10-15 drops of essential oil per 1 oz of wax was recommended. TBH, I had no idea how many ounces I was working with so I just poured the essential oil in until I liked the smell (lol). Using a food scale would be definitely be handy here.


Add Some Fun

I added a little natural food coloring and swirled it around, but I've also seen dried flowers or herbs. Of course, leaving it plain and simple is nice too.


Pour & Cool

Pour in wax and let cool for 24 hours before lighting.


How fun is that?!


I'd love to perfect the recipe but I think this is a good start!


There are lots of different waxes and wicks out there and I wonder how they impact the quality of the candle.


Mine didn't come out as smooth as I envisioned, so maybe the type of wax or cooling temps had something to do with it? Not totally sure, but at least the first burn smoothed it out.


Let me know if you make your first candle! I'd love to hear how it goes. Maybe we can perfect the homemade candle recipe together :)


Aubrey <3



bottom of page