top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

DIY Toddler Bed For Under $100

Hey friends! I was on the lookout for a magical and inexpensive toddler bed... and tbh I wasn't finding much so I decided to make our own!

Supplies:

4 | 2 x 3-in x 96-in white wood stud(legs of the bed + triangular frame)

3 | 2 x 2-in x 8-ft furring strip (very top canopy connection + mattress support)

6 | 1 x 3-in x 8-ft furring strip (mattress support)


Cut list using the supplies above:


*not pictured:

8 | 1 x 3 furring strips (slats for across mattress support 2 | 2 x 2 inner ledge for slats to rest on for mattress support


Step 1: Cut all pieces to size I started by pre-cutting all of my pieces. Most valuable tip here: cut once, MEASURE TWICE. What seams like a lot of cuts is actually a LOT of the same measurements, but precision is key in making this thing sturdy. Check out the cut list and let me know if you have any Qs.


Step 2: Sand Sand all pieces smooth. We can get down in the weeds about what grit to use (which is always recommended for the best/smoothest finish) but I just used what I had on hand... a good ol' 120 grit.


Step 3: Pocked holes

This bed is primarily held together by a bunch of screws and a whole lot of pocked holes. To sum it up, nearly every piece of wood was granted two pocked holes on each end for an easy assembly later. I have a video here to demonstrate how the pocket holes were made. The only exception to this was the top canopy section, where I skipped the pocket holes and simply screwed the angles together.


Step 4: Stain

Wood conditioner first, always! It makes for a better finish. Unless you're like me and completely space (mom brain), then just dive into the stain. I used a combo of Early American, Simply White, and Dark Walnut then finished with a clear coat.


Step 5: Assemble

I did assemble the header and footer of the bed before staining (optional). Then I assembled the rest of the bed in the room so it could fit through the door way. I used pocket screws until I ran out, and then used regular screws---all of which worked great.

Bedding details: I didn't LOVE the corners of the bed exposed (screws and all) so I used fabric to add a fun touch to the bed and completed it with cute string lights. Oh! and I stuck a pool noodle under the fitted sheet as a little bumper :)


I genuinely love how this turned out. It's simple and is the perfect transition bed that'll last for a couple of years until we upgrade to a twin.

And the best part? Our little guy enjoys it *holds back tears. He's actually sleeping a whole lot better in this than the crib, which I totally didn't expect!

Let me know if you give this project a go and what your littles think. This is such a beautiful stage in life, so cheers to soaking it in.


<3 Aubrey



Recent Posts

See All

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go

bottom of page