top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

How I Made a Beautiful Accent Wall in a Weekend!

Our master bedroom looked bland to me no matter what I did to it, so I figured this was the perfect place to create an accent wall!


Materials:

Paint

Tools:


1. Measure and draw up a plan


I was caught between a "grid" layout for the wall or simply running the boards horizontally, I decided to tape out my options to get a better idea. Once a layout is determined, Calconic.com can help calculate the spacing between each board.

2. Make your cuts and nail to wall


I started by framing all four sides of the wall first then moved to the inside boards. I cut a scrap piece of wood to use as a spacer between each of the boards so I didn't have to measure each time. This ensured my spacing was consistent and straight all the way across.


3. Wood fill, caulk, and sand


The finishing work is my least favorite, but most necessary to make the design look natural with the wall. Here's an easy way to remember the difference between wood filling and caulking:

  • Where wood meets wood = wood filler

  • Where wood meets wall = caulk

Then, I lightly sanded everything down.

4. Prime and paint


The boards didn't come primed so I primed them myself and painted everything Evergreen Fog by Sherwin Williams.


I love how this quick project brought so much personality to this room! Do you have a wall in your home that you'd do this to? Let me know in the comments!

<3 Aubrey

Recent Posts

See All

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go

bottom of page