top of page
  • Aubrey Booth

DIY Raised Garden Beds

I've been struggling to figure out how to utilize the side of our yard that gets the most sun, but when I came across raised garden beds I KNEW that's what we had to do!


Supplies:


Tools:


*These plans are for a 4' raised garden bed.


1. Cut the exterior boards to size

Cut two 2"x8"x8' boards down to 4 feet and the third board into four 2-foot boards. You should end up with four 4' boards and four 2' boards.


2. Cut support boards to go inside the planter

Cut the 2"x4"x8' board into four 2' boards. These will go inside the planter vertically and will be what each side of the planter attaches to.


3. Assemble planter

Using 3-inch screws, attach the two longest sides to the support boards. When both longest sides are complete, sit them up and attach the end pieces, drilling through to the adjacent side of the support board.


4. Add top ledge and corner strips (optional)

I added a top ledge using 1x3 boards. I also added verticle boards to the planter corners.


5. Seal the outside

To preserve the wood, I used this sealer and stain in one combo. This comes in different color options or in clear. I went with the Cedar color option.


6. Fill planter

I've seen lots of methods for this, so do what you like best. I lined mine with cardboard, added sticks and branches from around the yard, leaves and yard waste, then compost and nutrient-dense soil.


And that's it! I'm loving these new planters and can't wait for all of our plants to start taking off.


As always, I have all of the details saved in my highlights on Instagram. Please tag me if you decide to make your own planters! <3

Recent Posts

See All

My First Non-toxic Homemade Candle Recipe!

I've slowly been cutting back on the harsh chemicals around the house, and candles are one of them. What better way to know what you're burning than to make the candles yourself? So here's my first go

bottom of page